---
title: "Resources > Deactivate an Employee R12"
canonical: "https://technology.bytangram.com/space/TGKB/737476609/Resources%20%3E%20Deactivate%20an%20Employee%20R12"
format: markdown
---
Employees can't be deleted in WorkBook, instead they are deactivated/disabled and all the information pertaining to that employee remains in WorkBook.  

Employee deactivation occurs in the **resource **module and is usually controlled by a system administrator, designated role(s) or person(s) within your agency.

---

## DEACTIVATE AN EMPLOYEE

To deactivate an employee go to:

- **Resources **module > **employee settings grid** > **select the employee** you wish to deactivate/disable
- Click the **further options** menu > select **enable/disable selected resource**

![image](media://4ea67f60-90f4-4da0-8805-70df3a0bfdca)

- In the pop up you can choose one active employee to inherit all the data from the deactivated employee …or
- You can select individual employees to inherit certain types of data.

![image](media://1975b0f8-7b09-4fd1-8df0-d136ed996f3e)

- Select the employee expiry date

> ⚠️ Deactivation happens immediately, not on the date you place in this field

![image](media://6e3dbc24-4367-4a6f-9f45-234bb0de9178)

- You can also opt to:
  - Inherit job and task related conversations
  - Mark the deactivated employee as ‘done’ on all tasks they have been assigned
  - Disable the employee permanently
  - Or leave these check boxes blank
- After you make your selection/s > click** ok**

![image](media://017939a5-ea77-42ed-b2c7-e9a1acb01eeb)

> 📝 If you choose to disable employee permanently you will not be able to reactivate them in future. Our recommendation is <u>**not**</u> to use this feature.

![image](media://5f41b89d-ace4-48d2-b00c-d73618a181e5)

---

## TIPS FOR MANAGING OUTGOING EMPLOYEES

Prior to the employee end date, you should ensure:

- All open jobs are reallocated to other Project Managers/Account Managers accordingly
- The remainder of any open tasks are reassigned to other people
- The outgoing employee handles all open approvals and submits any open time sheets/expenses, prior to leaving

---

### Related articles

> Macro (contentbylabel)